European Adventures: Madrid (Day 1)

IMG_0021
A tourist-y shot with my brother Patrick

Hello! It’s been a very long time since my last post, as I’ve been very busy concentrating on my academics. I’m going to start trying again, I have a lot of pending blog posts about my trips in the past two years!

So here’s the first! We traveled from Manila – Dubai – Madrid last May 2015. I was so excited for this trip as it was my first time to step on European land! This trip was sort of my delayed graduation trip (and also my brothers’) and 18th birthday present, but more importantly, it was my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary! This also seems to be our last family trip abroad wherein all 5 of us are present, since my brother’s not going to have any school breaks anymore. So of course, we made the most out of this trip – and first stop, Madrid!

IMG_4601
Puerta del Sol (look at that photobomber!)

Straight from our long flight (and carrying all our luggage), I couldn’t resist taking a picture in Puerta del Sol, one of the busiest and most famous squares in the city. We stayed near Puerta del Sol, which was very convenient as it was the center of Madrid. We had no problem walking around and finding what we needed – restaurants, bakeries, convenience stores, souvenir shops, and of course – picture perfect places!

IMG_0070
Lol sorry for being so tourist-y

Even though we were still tired from the long flight, we didn’t waste time exploring Madrid as we were only there for an overnight stay. We went to Real Jardín Botánico de Madrid and it was great that they were able to maintain a place where one can get in touch with nature amidst the hustle and bustle of the city.

IMG_0075
My favorite among all the flowers I saw. Shot by Patrick Elio

We walked around the city and we were very amazed at the beautiful buildings that lined the streets of Madrid. I don’t know anything about architecture and all that, but it was breathtaking. Of course, we snapped more shots. We didn’t mind being tourists at all!

We also took a picture outside Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando, where artists such as Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso, Oscar de la Renta, and Filipino painter Juan Luna have studied their craft.

IMG_9995
Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando

After a long afternoon of walking, we opted to have a taste of local cuisine. We had jamon serrano (dry-cured Spanish ham), chorizo, tortilla (Spanish omelette), calamares, along with freshly baked bread. We fell in love with the jamon serrano and ordered a second plate! I guess we found our favorite “museum” in Madrid.

IMG_0088
My favorite museum!

A huge thank you to our hosts, who picked us up from the airport and toured us around Madrid.

IMG_0023
With our hosts, Tita Fe and Tita Femy

Stay tuned for Day 2 in Madrid!

Day 2 is up! Click here to read about it.

2 thoughts on “European Adventures: Madrid (Day 1)

Leave a Reply

